The Ten Bodies

In the Kundalini Yoga tradition, the human being doesn’t consist of just one physical body, or two (physical and mental), but rather ten—one physical body, three mental bodies, and six energy bodies. As you’ll discover in the practice, many of the exercises ignite the energetic bodies and things we cannot see, but feel. Kundalini Yoga engages all ten bodies, therefore working on multiple levels in a deep way.

1. The Soul Body

The first body is your best friend for life—your soul. Unlike the physical body, the soul never dies, but remains throughout your life and in lifetimes to come. It’s important to get well-acquainted with this body everyday, and preferably first thing in the morning.

Suggested Practices:

Kriya to Balance the Head and the Heart

Pulse Meditation


2. The Negative Mind

The negative mind is the part of you that wears a seatbelt, which is helpful as long as it’s in balance. It gives you the ability to be discerning, to not get carried away in overly-optimistic thought, and to stay out of dangerous situations. Yet when out of balance, the negative mind can become pessimism, fear, or at the very least, overthinking.

Suggested Practices:

Last Resort Meditation

Meditation for the Negative Mind


3. The Positive Mind

The positive mind is inspirational and uplifting when balanced, but when out of balance, it can be equally dangerous as you can become reckless, unprepared, gullible, or easily persuaded.

Suggested Practices:

Rebirthing Meditation

Meditation for the Positive Mind – Smiling Buddha Kriya


4. Neutral Mind

The Neutral Mind listens to the intellectual input from both the Negative Mind and the Positive Mind and then leads you to the best decision, using unbiased intuitive knowledge. It’s best to use the neutral mind to make decisions and to approach situations.

Suggested Practices:

Guru Ram Das Mantra

Meditation for the Neutral Mind


5. Physical Body

The physical body was crafted so you could enjoy a human life. It is the balance point between heaven and earth. The key to perfecting this body is balance. Balance in body and mind, balance in diet and exercise, balance in play, work, and rest.

Suggested Practices:

Keeping the Body Beautiful

Meditation for Protection and Projection from the Heart

6. Arcline

The Arc Body or Arcline is a line of energy that forms an arc from ear tip to ear tip. It is sometimes called your “halo.” This spiritual body projects who you are to other people without a word being spoken. It also protects you from negative energy directed towards you. Have you ever felt something, and turned around to find someone staring at you? That’s one experience of your arcline in action.

Suggested Practices:

Ajna Stimulation Kriya

Meditation for the Arcline and to Clear the Karmas


7. Auric Body

The Auric Body or Aura is a sphere of electromagnetic energy that surrounds the physical body. It can extend up to nine feet in every direction. You may recognize this body when you feel someone else’s presence in the room, or get a sense of their energy. This body protects the physical body and can manifest into different colors. This electromagnetic field of others can also impact us.

Suggested Practices:

Wearing White

Kriya for Balancing the Aura


8. Pranic Body

The Pranic Body is what controls the breath and takes in prana, the life force energy of the Universe. The Pranic Body gives you energy, courage, control over your mind, and healing power. When you breathe, you are feeding your Pranic Body. As you practice pranayam, you’ll experience the expansion and strength of this body.

Suggested Practices:


Ra Ma Da Sa Sa Say So Hung: The Ultimate Healing Tool


9. Subtle Body

The Subtle Body gives you the opportunity to understand and master the subtlety of life. It can help you understand what is going on around you and how things work. Those people who can tune into situations easily or pick up new skills as if by magic, have developed the Subtle Body.

Suggested Practices:

Clarify the Subtle Body

Developing a Meditative Mind


10. Radiant Body

The 10th body gives you spiritual royalty and radiance. Those with a strong Radiant Body have a lot of charisma and tend to shine. A strong Radiant Body will make you courageous in the face of any and every obstacle. Good things are drawn to you through a developed and powerful Radiant Body.

Suggested Practices:

Yogic Hair Care

Meditation to Develop the Radiant Body

3HO International

3HO International

3HO is a nonprofit with a mission to inspire everyone everywhere to realize their full potential through the uplifting experience of Kundalini Yoga.