The Healing Power of Gemstones & Crystals

The Healing Power of Gemstones & Crystals

Gemstones and crystals are some of the oldest and highest vibration materials on the planet. Used for thousands of years by ancient civilizations, from the Egyptians to the Aztecs, gemstones have been used in healing rituals as well as jewelry and as talismans for their powerful ability to release mental, physical, and spiritual blockages. 

Crystals are ancient and powerful rocks that hold a high vibrational energy used for healing. Using crystals and gemstones in your sadhana is a great way to connect to your intuition, heal your body and mind, and feel supported in your practice. 

Crystals can be used in many different ways: you can wear them as jewelry, you can have them sitting next to you during sadhana or by your bed when you sleep; you can hold and meditate with them or use them for healing. Whether you work with one or many, crystals have specific healing properties that may be used at various times for various reasons. Using your intuition is key here when you’re feeling called to work with a specific crystal. 


Body: Soul 

Astrological Sign: Aquarius

Amethyst crystals are a staple for every yogi: they promote healing and protection, calm and relaxation, and open the third eye. They are great allies when doing sadhana or even for sleep.


Tiger's Eye

Body: Neutral Mind 

Astrological Sign: Aries

Tiger's Eye is one of the most grounding earth stones that's used to stay rooted while meditating and entering higher states of consciousness. It is a solar stone of vitality, physical action, and practicality.


Rose Quartz

Body: Soul 

Astrological Sign: Taurus

This popular stone helps open the heart and heal the past. It is associated with the heart chakra.


Astrological Sign: Sagittarius 

One of the four healing stones, turquoise pulls out impurities; it is a purification stone. It dispels negative energy and can be worn to protect against outside influences or pollutants in the atmosphere. Turquoise balances and aligns all the chakras, stabilizing mood swings and instilling inner calm.



Body: Radiant & Arcline

Astrological Sign: Taurus, Virgo, Libra & Sagittarius 

Lapis is a regal stone that will keep anything inauthentic away. It releases stress and brings deep inner peace. It brings inner truth and power.



Body: Radiant 

Astrological Sign: Aries, Leo, Virgo

Garnet enhances commitment to one's path and maintains clarity. It helps people follow their passions, and re-energizes the chakras. Garnet balances the sex drive and alleviates emotional disharmony. It activates and strengthens the survival instinct, bringing courage and hope.


Body: Negative mind 

Astrological Sign: Libra, Scorpio, Capricorn

Malachite is a powerful stone that dispels negative energy and old behaviors. It clears and activates the chakras.



Body: Subtle

Astrological Sign: Leo, Scorpio, Sagittarius

Labradorite is a healing stone of transformation. It heightens the intuition, revealing what's not being heard or shown in normal life. It's an important companion of change, helping to give strength and protection and intuition through it all.


Clear Quartz

Body: Arcline 

Astrological Sign: All

Clear quartz brings the user into alignment with their highest self as well as channel universal energy. It's known as a "master healer" and will amplify energy and thought, as well as the effect of other crystals. It dispels negative energy.


Body: Physical 

Astrological Sign: Aries, Aquarius

This stone helps strengthen the body and is great for circulation. It grounds and protects. It gives strength and vitality.



Body: Electromagnetic field 

Astrological Sign: Gemini, Cancer

Pearl strengthens the aura and aligns the chakras. It signifies faith, charity and innocence. 

It enhances personal integrity and improves one's attention.


Cat's Eye

Body: Radiant

Astrological Sign: Capricorn, Taurus, Aries

Cat's Eye is one of the most powerful stones on the planet -- it is the stone of transcendence. When an appropriate Cat’s Eye ring or pendant is worn, correct intuitive awareness beyond the limit of oneself arises.


This is a stone of gratitude. Like many blue stones, it is cooling, calming, soothing and stimulating for the third eye, the throat and crown chakras.



Body: Pranic 

Astrological Sign: Leo, Scorpio, Sagittarius

The stone of fearlessness, Topaz soothes, heals, stimulates, recharges, re-motivates and aligns the meridians of the body – directing energy to where it is needed most. It promotes truth and forgiveness.



Body: Auric Field 

Also known as Red Tourmaline, Rubellite is an uplifting stone that is grounded, strong and incredibly alive in love. It helps heal emotional wounds and traumas of the past.


Body: Subtle 

Astrological Sign: Virgo, Libra, Sagittarius

This stone brings about mastery. Known as the "wisdom stone", each color of Sapphire brings its own particular message. It releases mental tension, depression, unwanted thoughts and spiritual confusion.



Body: Physical 

Astrological Sign Aries, Gemini, Scorpio, Aquarius, Pisces\

Aquamarine brings about balance and is the stone of courage. Its calming energies reduce stress and quiet the mind.  Aquamarine has an affinity with sensitive people.



Body: Radiant 

Astrological Sign: Aries, Taurus, Leo 

The Diamond is associated with the crown chakra and brings about radiance and is a symbol of purity. It brings love and clarity into partnerships.


Body: Positive Mind 

Astrological Sign: Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra

Citrine brings about hope and more vibrant energy flow. It energizes every level of life. It's also popularly known to attract wealth, success and prosperity.



Body: Negative Mind

Astrological Sign: Aries, Cancer, Leo, Scorpio, Sagittarius

Ruby encourages passion and zest for life. It helps improve connection, motivation and setting realistic goals. It also encourages joy, spontaneity, laughter and courage.



Body: Neutral Mind 

Astrological Sign: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Libra

This is known as the "stone of successful love". Associated with the heart chakra, emerald is also the stone of giving. It promotes unconditional love and unity.


Astrological Sign: Libra

Lepidolite has been said to activate the heart chakra, bringing about feelings of well-being, love, and even joy. It helps to balance out any emotional extremes and take back your personal strength and power as an individual, while maintaining a sense of kindness and sweetness.


Pink Opal

Astrological Sign: Cancer, Libra, Pisces, Scorpio

Opals contain up to 30% water, are extremely sensitive and should be handled with great care. Shakespeare referred to opal as “the queen of gems". Pink opal clears and calms the heart and brings a sense of love, peace, and tranquility to one’s aura. They are very helpful in relieving fear, worry, or anxiety and are helpful in dissipating stress and allowing one to be more centered and calm.


More Suggested Practices

Kundalini Yoga for balancing the Pineal, Pituitary and Hypothalamus
Pituitary Gland Series
Balance the Mind in the Group Energy
Balancing the Nervous Energies