You are here

What’s A Heart Chakra and Where Do I Get One?

By Angela Davis Schaefers aka Stella Bodhi 

When I started my yoga practice I had no idea what a chakra was, where it was, how to get one or why it even mattered! As I have evolved in my practice and trained to teach yoga, I have learned the importance. The word chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel” or “circle,” and it refers to the individual circular spinning wheels of energy located throughout the body. There are seven within the body, starting at the crown and going down to the base of our spine.

The seven chakras are as follows;

1. Root Chakra — Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.
Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.

2. Sacral Chakra — Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.
Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra — Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives.
Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

4. Heart Chakra — Our ability to love.
Location: Center of chest just above the heart.

5. Throat Chakra — Our ability to communicate.
Location: Throat.

6. Third Eye Chakra — Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.
Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra).

7. Crown Chakra — The highest chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.
Location: The very top of the head.

I have to admit, it was not easy to accept this knowledge since I cannot ‘see’ the chakras. As I delved deeper into my yoga practice I began to feel the energy open in each of the seven designated areas. And as I did the work of opening up my chakras, it all made much more sense.

One of the biggest sources of my healing has been to focus on my Heart Chakra. The Heart Chakra is connected to our emotions; love, joy and inner peace. For most of us, if the heart is not whole and healed, we continue to suffer. We may lack self-love, we may be blocked from giving and receiving love, and we may not recognize love when it comes to us.

The Heart Chakra can be opened with yoga, meditation, prayer, and healthy living. You will know when yours begins to open. You will feel lighter, more joyful and you will experience a deeper connection with self and others.

February is notorious for being the month of LOVE. Valentine’s Day is celebrated by those in love and those longing for love, and we can celebrate non-romantic love too! I encourage you to spend this time of LOVE opening your Heart Chakra. It’s the greatest gift you can give yourself and those around you! Love is an inside job, it won’t work on the outside until the inside is whole and healed.

Angela Davis Schaefers aka Stella Bodhi is a coach, workshop facilitator, speaker and writer. She has interviewed people around the globe to share their inspiring stories of overcoming challenges and living successfully. She writes various articles on motivation, self-improvement and inspiration, often sharing her own experiences or those she has learned from. She authored her memoir Grief to Grace. She published her book, ‘Your Story Matters, You Matter – A guide to healing, learning from and sharing your story‘ and is completing two additional books, ‘Cancer Doesn’t Come Wrapped In A Pretty Ribbon‘ and ‘Unlocking Grief.’