You are here

We are the Aquarians

By Ravi Har Singh Khalsa 

Yogi Bhajan spoke about the date 11-11-2011 repeatedly as a critical milestone marking the end of the cusp period that started on 11-11-1992 and the beginning of the transition to the Age of Nanak, which he also referred to as the Age of the Shabad Guru, and which officially begins in 2038. You might think of the period from 1991 up to the present (2011) as being the time during which changes have happened mostly on the level of vibrational frequencies.

From now until 2038 we will see the corresponding changes manifest on the physical Earth, in society, and in our consciousness. The ages change roughly every 2160 years, so this is not just another routine day. It's not even a once-in-a-lifetime event—it's a once-in-2000-years event!

Think about this for a moment. On the soul level, each of us here today clamored to take birth on this Earth just to be here at just this time. On a cosmic level, preparations for this transition have been going on for a long time. Over two thousand years ago Patanjali gave the mantra Wahe Guru. Guru Nanak took birth over five hundred years ago to deliver the teachings of the Shabad Guru for these times. Guru Gobind Singh came to give form to the Khalsa as the model for the pure conscious humans of the Aquarian Age.

Yogi Bhajan came in his time to gather us brave souls, wandering dazed and confused in this alien world, and shape us into a Khalsa (Khalsa means pure of heart) sovereign spiritual nation. Each of us has played a part in this Divine play, to be here just at this time. Nor does this process end with the change of the age. Yogiji describes this time as the beginning of a period of five thousand years, a Golden Age, during which the Khalsa will rule through service, compassion, and humility.

This coming date of 11-11-2011 is much, much more than just an important date on the calendar. It marks the beginning of a whole new age of light, consciousness, and awareness. It is why each of us is alive today. I encourage you to pause, take a moment from your daily routine and reflect upon the scale of these momentous changes that are taking place right now.

In 1992 Yogi Bhajan gave us the Aquarian Sadhana as the daily practice to prepare us for the transition of the ages and for living in the Aquarian Age. This is a perfect time to give yourself a most precious gift—the gift of the experience of the Shabad Guru in a group consciousness.

It is time to leave our old Piscean habits and limiting mental patterns behind. The change of the times is upon us now. Now is the time to step up and give ourselves the gift of experience, the gift of Aquarian consciousness. Here are some of Yogi Bhajan’s words on this topic:

“Now we are entering an Aquarius Age, an age where you know, experience, and then only you will believe. An age of love, it’s a golden age, it’s an age of truth, it’s an age of perfect guidance. In this age happiness shall belong to those who will have the concept of an individual consciousness; the individual consciousness may be blended into group consciousness; and as a group consciously you blend with universal consciousness.

"Individuality shall not survive in this age. Individuality shall not even exist in it with any iota of happiness. Individuality shall not have any role to play in the Age of Aquarius. The miserable water carrier, the sign of the zodiac of the age will be the plight of those who will try to remain and live individually sealed off in their own cocoons.

"But the man of God, man of wisdom, man of light shall walk out and shall live in a group consciously, respecting, loving, with individuality as his basis, as his foundation, but vibrating in uniformity of soul, body, and spirit. Such a man shall progress. Those who will pull themselves beyond that yonder to the Infinity and the beauty of God, creativity, and the spirit—those who will not exist with their ego but with humility—those shall find themselves going higher in levitated form.” 
-Yogi Bhajan 06/20/1973

“The religion of the Piscean age was I believe, I know. The religion of the Aquarian age is I know, therefore I believe. It’s a hundred eighty degree difference. That’s the difference of religion from now onwards. We call it a new age. Nobody will believe just because of philosophy or because of this or because of that. People will believe experience.

"Even in 3HO people who experience the consciousness through Kundalini Yoga could believe that there is a God, there is a path to God. The consciousness of Ang Sang Wahe Guru came to us through experience. The consciousness of Cherdi Kala came to us through experience; it didn’t come to us through philosophy. It came to us through Sadhana. And that is the difference between the past which is the age of Pisces, now, which is the age of Aquarius, and tomorrow, which is the Sat age or the new age, or we call it cosmic consciousness.”
-Yogi Bhajan 04/11/1979

Ravi Har Singh Khalsa is currently writing "We Are the Aquarians: Yogi Bhajan's Vision of the Aquarian Age."